Blossoming

NB: All links in this article will open in a new tab.

I finally did it. I started on my path to being a content creator on YouTube. It was not something I ever aspired to be, however both my kids do. I am aware there are others that have channels about DID but I tend to stay away from them. Well, I used to. Recently I have seen a commentaries by therapists about movies, and a journalist I like covered DID, and I like what they had to say. I feel that I could add to the conversation and help people understand it more.

When I learned about DID I felt very alone. It was not something that I felt I could share with anyone – save a select few. I had a therapist much younger than a lot of people, and we discovered this about our self much earlier than a lot of people. I had books recommended to me, and I even had an opportunity to meet someone else with DID. The books were fine but I was very excited to meet an actual person with DID. However, when we did meet the age gap was so much that we really did not have a lot to talk about. But it was nice to confirm that I was not alone, so it was not for nothing.

I digress – I know my last post said short form and here I am rambling on. The point here is that I like helping people. I like teaching about computers. I know alot about aviation, and the logistics of air travel. Trains, Farming… the list goes on. But one thing I know a lot about is DID. And if I had someone that could model what life with DID could be like when I was young, I would not have felt alone, or scared, or a myriad of other feelings.

A lot of media portrails of DID depict it as something scary, or that there are monsters inside us. This simply isn’t true. I won’t say there are not scary people out in the world – there is a plethora of people without DID that are quite scary and dangerous. I want the world to know that we exist. DID is real; you may very well know someone with it that masks well enough that you do not notice. I want to show that we can live a satisfying life. We can have a career. And we can raise a happy family.

We can help others learn by sharing our life experience. My goal is to help others know they are not alone. I have answered many posts on reddit from people asking how to support a friend or partner with DID. Answer: Patience, Love and empathy.

So stay tuned for more updates about the YouTube channel. My goal is to have at least one video posted by the end of January 2023.

What do you think of this article?